Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

Not so yummy pizza…

I hate for my first entry in this blog to be a negative one, but anything’s better than staring at a blank page, right?

So me and the boyfriend went to Katie’s Pizzeria Cafe in Clayton, MO (a suburb of St. Louis, for you lovely out-of-towners). I had passed by the place a dozen times, and after hearing mixed (mostly positive) reviews, I decided to check it out. I brought the boyfriend along. He doesn’t really have a choice when it comes to matters as important as this.

My first impression? Parking SUCKS. There was street parking out front, but there was also a sign on the street that said ‘No Parking after 4pm’. It was 3:30pm. We drove around to the back, hoping for a parking lot, and there was nothing. We ended up parking in a residential area a few blocks away. Not cool.

We walked in, and the restaurant was completely empty.

We sat ourselves at a table and waited a bit. After a few minutes with no greeting (or any sign of life, for that matter!), we peeked our heads into the back. There was one guy washing dishes, and he told us that someone would be with us ‘in a minute’.

I’m really impatient when it comes to service. I tried to keep my cool by checking the place out. Not bad. Nice atmosphere. The bar looked pretty cool.

Well…about 10 minutes passed before our waitress came out. She was completely unapologetic about our long wait. She handed us some menus and went to get some water for us. She didn’t leave any silverware, so I had to steal some from another table.

For an appetizer, we ordered the baked zucchini rolls, which came with a side of marinara sauce. These were actually very tasty. Definitely expensive, but unique and yummy nonetheless.

For our pizza, we decided to go with the one with fingerling potatoes, parsnips, pancetta, parmaggiano, onion, and rosemary. I was so excited that I forgot to take a picture. Imagine awesomeness on a plate. Yep, you got it.

The pizza came out pretty quickly, but as the waitress came over to bring it to us, she dropped half of it on the floor. Awesome. She apologized, and gave us the half that didn’t drop while she went back to have another pizza made for us.

The pizza itself wasn’t too bad. I’m not a huge fan of thinner crusts, but this was decent. While the pizza was definitely unique, it was missing something. I don’t know what. A hint of sweetness (maybe using a sweeter cheese or something? I’m no chef. I don’t know!) would have been nice. It just sort of fell flat.

All in all, this place gets a huge ‘meh’ from me. I’ve had better pizza elsewhere. I think I’ll come back one day (I really want to try the pizza with the fontina and apples), but I don’t know when that day will be. Everything was overly expensive, and it really wasn’t a good value. If the food was excellent, I can easily overlook the high price, but it just wasn’t.

One note: These pictures were taken using my iPhone. I promise the picture quality will be better in the future!

February 28, 2010 - Posted by | food | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

