Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

De Palm Tree

Jamaican, mon! Okay, now that I got THAT out of the way (I’ve been dying to say it ever since I dined here!) I can get into the nitty gritty.

De Palm Tree is the one and only Jamaican restaurant in the city of St. Louis. So I knew I had to try it. It’s nestled in a little strip mall of sorts, so unless you’re specifically looking for it, it’s super easy to miss.

sorry about the dark picture!

Inside, it was very cozy; it probably could fit 15 people comfortably. Tiny! But it was beautifully decorated; it looked like a little hut! So cute.

Our server was very friendly and personable. He immediately greeted me and my friends as we walked in, and was quick to serve us water and present us with menus.

Having looked at the menu online before the visit, I knew exactly what I wanted to try: the oxtail stew! I had never had oxtail before, but I knew I wanted to try it. Maybe it’s the Andrew Zimmern in me. But I like unique foods.

The oxtail stew came with a vegetable (tonight, it was cabbage), and the choice of either red beans and rice or a baked potato. I went with the red beans and rice.

oxtail stew!

Everything (except for the cabbage, which I didn’t try) was delicious. The oxtail meat literally fell off of the bone. For those who haven’t tried it, it tasted like a very tender pot roast. The seasonings were perfect! Not too spicy, but there was definitely a bit of a kick toward the end. The vegetables that were mixed throughout the stew were tender and delicious. I especially liked the butter beans that were in the stew!

The red beans and rice were also a hit. Once again, they were seasoned SO well.

Unfortunately, I was too stuffed by the end of the meal to try dessert, but I’ll be back for sure for some rum cake!

Overall scores?

Food: 5 stars (out of five)

Ambiance: 5 stars

Service: 5 stars

Value: 4 stars

I absolutely cannot wait to come back. The menu at De Palm Tree is extensive, so I’ll be back again and again to try everything. Yum!

March 31, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. W00t! Good to hear the only Jamaican restaurant in StL is good at what they do. Take me with you next time!

    Comment by Andy | March 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

