Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

Ted Drewes!

So after a 12 mile bike ride on Grants Trail in St. Louis, I had a craving for one thing, and one thing only: frozen custard! Anyone who grew up in St. Louis knows that the best place to get frozen custard is Ted Drewes. Do I think it’s the best? Well, you’ll have to keep reading to find out.

open on Easter Sunday!

Ted Drewes has a couple locations in St. Louis, but the most popular (and original!) location is along historic Route 66. It’s a cute little shack, but don’t be fooled by it’s rough exterior; there’s some good stuff being made inside!

Now I’m an ice cream purist; I don’t like nuts, fruit, etc. in my ice cream. But how interesting would a picture of plain vanilla custard be? Not very. I scoured the menu and found something that sounded tasty: the strawberry shortcake sundae! It was described on the menu as shortcake, with vanilla custard, strawberries, and whipped cream on top. Sounded pretty yummy!

So the first thing I noticed were the strawberries. Hmm. They looked a little suspect to me, and this is exactly the reason why I don’t like extra “stuff” in my ice cream. I’m very picky about ingredient quality, and these strawberries looked like the frozen kind with weird syrup all over them. Not very fresh. The syrup was sickeningly sweet, and had a weird aftertaste. However, I wasn’t going to give up just yet! I ate around the strawberries, and instead focused on the shortcake, the custard, and the whipped cream. Yum. The custard has an amazing consistency that I love.

However, the strawberries were overpowering the whole thing. If you like your strawberries like this, then go for this sundae, because they really load them on! But I wasn’t happy. So I dumped it and tried again with a different flavor. This time I went with the new Pomegranite custard flavor, in the “mini” size.

First of all, this was HUGE for a mini size! Not bad for two bucks and some change.

I tried it, and it was creamy and sweet, but not too sweet. The flavor of pomegranate was there, but it wasn’t intense or overpowering, which is always a plus in my book. I really enjoyed it.

Now if I had to pick one thing to gripe about with Ted Drewes, it would be this:

sad and melty...oh, and that's my boyfriend's thumb. Say hello!

That’s the same cup of custard, less than two minutes later. In 68 degree weather. If there’s one thing I HATE, it’s soupy ice cream. And Ted Drewes melts pretty easily, even in not-so-hot temperatures. Boo.

Service at Ted Drewes is speedy and efficient. On a warm summer night, the lines can be 20 to 30 people deep. But you’re never waiting in line for more than 5 minutes. It’s quick!

Prices are also extremely reasonable. You can get a pretty huge amount of custard for a couple bucks; can’t beat that!

With that said, it’s onto the scores:

Food: 4 stars (out of five)

Ambiance: 2 stars

Service: 5 stars

Value: 5 stars

Ted Drewes isn’t my favorite custard, but it’s not terrible either. And if you’re in St. Louis, you MUST visit, just for the experience. And who knows? You might just fall in love with it! šŸ™‚

April 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I saw this on the Travel Channel for one of the top 100 places to go and I want to try the cement thing that is really thick. My roomie’s bf is in St. Louis and she visits him sometimes but more recently when she has gone, it was closed. I told her that she NEEDS to bring one back for me when they open up!

    Comment by jqlee | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have been there before! YEARS ago!! So fun!

    Comment by Lauren @ A Fit Foodie | April 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] to be real with you — some things in St. Louis are just a little bit (okay, a LOT) overrated. Ted Drewes, anyone? Don’t get me wrong; some of the overrated places aren’t BAD. They just […]

    Pingback by Failure of epic proportions! « Off the Eaten Path | June 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] a cute little corner cafe in the South Hampton area of St. Louis. Sort of in the same area as Ted Drewes. We arrived at 11am, and it was PACKED. I was surprised that we found a corner table to sit in. I […]

    Pingback by Murdoch Perk « | September 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] to be real with you — some things in St. Louis are just a little bit (okay, a LOT) overrated. Ted Drewes, anyone? Don’t get me wrong; some of the overrated places aren’t BAD. They just […]

    Pingback by Failure of epic proportions! « | September 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

