Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

CJ Mugg’s!

So my boyfriend was feeling hungry on a rainy Saturday afternoon, and I had passed by CJ Mugg’s a few times while in the area, so I thought it would be worth a visit (and blog post, of course!).

CJ Muggs has a few locations around the St. Louis area, so I suppose it would be considered a local chain? I suppose this sort of breaks my rule of not dining at chain restaurants. Oh well!

I didn’t take a picture of the entrance because I didn’t want to get my camera wet. Boo. Sorry. 😦

Anyway, on to the food!  We were seated and some nice warm bread was brought to the table. It had a really interesting butter that went with it. I’m guessing it was jalapeno butter? I could be way off, and in that case, I apologize! It was so tasty.

nice warm bread...

AMAZING butter!

For food, I had the hummus plate. It’s an appetizer, but I wasn’t very hungry, so I just had that for my entree. It’s pretty good! Lots of pita bread, a huge amount of hummus, and olive tapenade and feta cheese. YUM!

feta cheese!

delicious olive tapenade

Andy had pizza, and opted for andouille sausage and broccoli for his toppings. I had a bite,and it was pretty good. Not amazing, but decent.



Service was alright. Our waitress wasn’t super attentive, but I’m fine with that. The place was pretty empty on a Saturday afternoon, which may or may not say something about the place.

I’m not dying to come back here, but I wouldn’t be opposed to visiting again.

Scores?

Food: 3 stars (out of five)

Ambiance: 2 stars

Service: 3 stars

Value: 3 stars

April 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Good review! I usually go for happy hour Monday thru Friday for (free) wings but I might check out the rest of the menu sometime.

    Comment by CP | April 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! I didn’t know about their happy hour (and free wings!!). I will DEFINITELY have to check that out. Thanks charles! 🙂

      Comment by Off The Eaten Path | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. broccoli on pizza is sooooooo good!

    Comment by trish | May 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

