Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

Don’t Judge Me!

It’s okay…you can go ahead and judge. I’m going to show you where I went a few weeks ago (April 12, to be exact!) and you can try to guess what I ate:

Have you guessed yet? Let me give you one more hint:

Yes…I tried the infamous Double Down. I’m hanging my head in shame right now.

So why the huge gap between my consumption of the Double Down and my blog post? Well…I wasn’t going to post about it on here, to be honest. I don’t typically eat at chain restaurants, and I DEFINITELY limit how often I eat fast food. Why waste money at McDonalds when I can go somewhere nice and have decent food?

But all of the hype surrounding the thing had me intrigued. I’m a scientist at heart (and by trade!) so let’s just call this an experiment of sorts? If I say that I did this in the name of science, will you promise not to judge me so harshly?

Anyway, I tried it. Ready for pictures? Here we go.

Caution: consumption of this product may lead to a heart attack!

What’s in this thing, you ask? Well, I think KFC describes it best, so I’ll take an excerpt straight from their website: “The new KFC Double Down sandwich is real! This one-of-a-kind sandwich features two thick and juicy boneless white meat chicken filets (Original Recipe® or Grilled), two pieces of bacon, two melted slices of Monterey Jack and pepper jack cheese and Colonel’s Sauce. This product is so meaty, there’s no room for a bun!”

Wow.

The important question: how did it taste? Well…it wasn’t bad. It was exactly what you’d expect. Two pieces of fried chicken surrounding bacon and cheese. Nothing more, nothing less. I didn’t drop dead after taking a bite, but I wasn’t eager to eat more. In fact, I could only eat about half of it before I started feeling queasy. Maybe the thought of it all was finally getting to me.

The next day I felt seriously ill. I felt like a bloated whale. Perhaps it’s the 1380mgs of sodium this little bugger contains? Whew!

So there you have it, guys. I did this so no one else will have to. And trust me, you really shouldn’t. Taste-wise, it wasn’t anything to go crazy about. And the after effects were definitely not worth it.

I promise I’ll have a real blog post coming up soon. I’m going somewhere super special this Saturday…I can’t wait to share it with you all! Good food will be in GREAT abundance. Mmmm.

May 6, 2010 - Posted by | food, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Wow girl, you’re a lot braver than I am.
    I enjoy reading your blog and really like your sense of humor. You sound like you would be a fun person to go out to dinner with. Don’t tell your boy friend that though. :>)

    Comment by John Dalton | May 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! I’m glad you like my blog (and my sense of humor!) 🙂

      Comment by Off The Eaten Path | May 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’ve been reading your blogs. Very nice! You’ll be a famous food critic someday, Ijust know it. Since you like to go out and eat so much I should turn you on to GROUPONS. I use them all the time and eat out for 1/2 price. Miss you!
    Check out today’s foodie groupon:

    http://www.groupon.com/r/uu1738420

    Comment by jane linders | May 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I owe this blog to you, Jane! Without your encouragement, I would have never started it. I miss you too!

      That groupon site is awesome! Thanks for the link. Woohoo!

      Comment by Off The Eaten Path | May 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

