Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

Dancin’ to the beat of my own drum!

I’ve been dying to try Tam Tam African restaurant for ages now. It’s in North County, St. Louis…which happens to be pretty close to where I work! Score. It’s nestled in a pretty nondescript strip mall.

I walked in and was immediately greeted by the friendliest restaurant owner I’ve come across in quite some time! It was pretty awesome, if you ask me. He seated me and handed me a menu. I took some time to look over it, as well as check out the scenery. There was nothing fancy here; it was very simply decorated, and I’m fine with that!

I thought this mural was pretty cool!

I ordered a ginger juice to start out.

I’m not gonna lie — this was really intense! The ginger flavor was DEFINITELY there. This is not for the faint of heart! Somehow, even though it was super intense, it was still refreshing. YUM!

The super friendly waitress then brought me out some chips and salsa, West African style. I cannot describe in words how good this chips were, so I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves!

The salsa was also unique and tasty. It had a spiciness to it, but there was also a touch of sweetness. It was incredible paired with the chips.

I’m a HUGE fan of fried plantains. One of my good friends from college was from Nigeria, and her family had the BEST fried plantains I’ve had in my life! I’ve tried fried plantains at many restaurants around St. Louis, and nothing ever compared to the real thing. Until now! Tam Tam did it RIGHT. These were TO DIE FOR!

These plantains were good all by themselves, but I think a sweet dipping sauce (honey based) would have kicked this up notches unknown to mankind! Oh well.

Okay…time for the main course! Everything sounded good on the menu, but I decided to venture out and try something I’ve never had before — goat!

The menu described the goat entree as “Tender goat meat slowly grilled and spiced the African way, served
with your choice of couscous, fries, or plantain.” Ummm…yes please! I already had plantains, and fries are BORING, so I went with the couscous.

After lots of anticipation, my meal finally came out. Feast your eyes on THIS, my friends!

And the vegetable couscous…

So everything LOOKED tasty, but I’m really sad to report that the goat didn’t quite live up to my expectations. I don’t know if goat is always this way or if I just got a bad batch, but it was VERY fatty. I could only salvage a few morsels to pop into my mouth! Saaaad panda.

The couscous was good, though! Very flavorful with yummy tender veggies spread throughout. A party in my mouth for sure!

Score time!

Food: 3 stars (out of five)

Ambiance: 3 stars

Service: 5 stars

Value: 5 stars

Overall, I still had an enjoyable meal. And I’m not giving up on Tam Tam — I will surely be back! Next time I’ll just skip the goat.

May 31, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. those chips look AWESOME. i’ve never tried African before, but I think I’ll need to try and find one to check out here in Boston. And I’ll skip the goat 🙂

    Comment by banba1 | May 31, 2010 | Reply

    • they were SO good! I wish I knew how to recreate it at home.

      Comment by Off The Eaten Path | May 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

