Off the Eaten Path

Exploring St. Louis, one meal at a time…

You win some, you lose some…

Fitz’s, I’m sorry, but this time around you were a LOOOOOSER!

I was in the Loop on a warm summer night with some friends, and we decided to hit up this spot. I had been to Fitz’s a handful of times, and I was always satisfied with their food (and their CREAM SODA!!! *drooool*) so I was expecting good eats. Not anything MINDBLOWING, but good.

But I was sorely disappointed. Let me tell you why…

We started off with the sample platter.  Fried pickles, toasted ravioli, sweet potato fries, chicken wings…you can’t go wrong with that, right?

Everything was pretty good, don’t get me wrong — my problem is that everything was LUKEWARM. Yuck.

I thought that maybe I’d have better luck with the entree: The Buffalo Chicken wrap. The menu described it as “Fried chicken tenders tossed in Fitz’s wing sauce and wrapped in a jalapeno tortilla with cream cheese, Pico de Gallo, and Colby Jack cheese.  Served with spring mix topped with Southwest dressing.”

It also came with sweet potato fries.

Once again, the food wasn’t TERRIBLE, but it wasn’t great, either. Served lukewarm again. It’s amazing how much of a difference HOT food would have made.

I don’t like to run negative reviews into the ground, so I’ll leave it at that. Let’s just move to scores, shall we?

Food: 1 star (out of five)

Ambiance: 3 stars

Service: 2 stars

Value: 4 stars

I probably won’t come back, because I feel like I could get better food at Applebee’s (and those who know me know how much I DESPISE Applebee’s!).

Sorry, Fitz’s.

July 10, 2010 - Posted by | food | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Do you think the problem was the kitchen or a lazy waitstaff?

    Comment by John Dalton | July 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Maybe both? I don’t know, but it was super disappointing!

      Comment by Off The Eaten Path | July 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment